POWER SHOULDERS

When people think about the 80’s the 1st thing that comes to mind are bamboo, doorknocker, earrings, Adidas tracksuits and a mild yet worrying obsession with Aquanet …ok, mild is an understatement. But what about those powerful shoulders? Well they´re back with a vengeance and trust me ya mama never had it this good

 The past years have seen the re-emergence of the Power Shoulder and the movement is still going strong. Unlike most trends this is no one-day-fly, if anything it has gained momentum. The last time Power Shoulders were in I was young, impressionable …and broad shouldered. No seriously, I hated my shoulders back then because they jutted out from my neck at a very unladylike 90 degree angle.

Suffice it to say I was not pleased when my mother would come home bearing jackets with shoulders padded to the 3rd power. They didn’t start out that way, but my shoulders seemed to powered by hydraulics bent on making me look like a quarterback/linebacker inbred (not a good look for a girl). So with much resentment I’d rip those suckers out and go on my merry way.

Fast forward a few(take this word very lightly) years later I have grown into my shoulders and I am over my broad shoulder complex. I would even go so far as to say that I love them, yes LOVE. So with that being said I feel more than confident to give it the old college try and power up the shoulders.

When the Power Shoulder first hit the scene it was more than just a fashion statement but a STATEMENT on women and their place in the workplace. As they started gaining ground in the office the shoulders grew with each step. Some might say it was nothing more than a misplaced attempt to harness some Y chromosome energy, making this tailored look a tad bit manly. Whether or not, they were powerful and you had to know it.

In contrast, today’s Power Shoulders are for the ‘hyper-feminine’ woman. They have escaped the Dynasty vault and the tasteless paring of hairspray and frosted costume jewellery, giving place for a more avant-garde look worn by the likes of Lady Gaga, Beyonce and in the near future, me.

Shoulders, Power up!

If you have a strong cornea and you want to see powered up shoulders for yourself, CLICK THE LINK BELOW!!! 

http://www.style.com/community/lookbooks/view/mylookbook1181736?iphoto=0

Comments Off on POWER SHOULDERS

Filed under Fashion, the wearable art

Comments are closed.